Customize Permissions for Web Tasks

Customize permissions if you want to define which users and groups have access to a web task, as well as which type of access they have.

Before You Begin

Before you begin working with permissions, it is important to understand the relationship between roles and permissions. In addition, it is helpful to understand how administrative rights are affected by permissions. For more information, see About Item Permissions.

Note: It might take a few seconds for changes to permissions to take effect.

Add Users and Groups to a Web Task

  1. Enable Customize permissions.
  2. Click Edit. If you are customizing permissions for a new item, you must save the item before you can click Edit.
  3. Click Add members to add users or groups.
    Note: If a user is listed in the table and is also included in a group that is listed in the table, the permissions that are assigned to the user apply. For example, if a person has Edit access in a task and is also a member of a group that has View access, that person has Edit access to the task. You can view the membership of a group by clicking Properties.
  4. Select which type of permission to grant the users and groups. Selecting View restricts the user or group to Read-Only permissions. Selecting Edit grants the user or group Edit permissions.
    Note:
    • You can inadvertently reduce the access that an administrator has if you assign View permission to users who are administrators or to groups that contain administrators. To help you identify these users and groups, administrators and groups that contain an administrator are denoted by the Administrator icon.
    • If business contexts are being used, only the users and groups that are members of the business context are available for selection.
  5. Click Save.

Edit Permissions to Web Tasks

You can modify the users and groups that have permission to access a web task. To manage the list of users and groups, perform one of these actions:

  • To change the permissions that are assigned to a user or group, select the appropriate row. Click Options and select the new permissions.
  • To reset permissions, click Reset permissions. This option resets the permissions to the list from the most recent save and is available only after a change is made.
  • To remove a user or group, select the user or group and click Remove members.
  • To reset the permissions to the default permissions that are defined by an administrator, click Options and select Reset default permissions.
TipYou can modify the settings for multiple users and groups at one time by selecting all of the rows of the table that you want to update. For example, you can change the permissions of multiple users and groups by selecting the appropriate rows and clicking Options.
Last updated: August 11, 2026