Working with Web Creatives

A web creative represents the content that is displayed on your web page. The creative can be HTML, a combination of assets and HTML, or a URL template that a recommendation task uses to locate content to recommend to a user. You can access creatives by navigating to Creatives or by opening a message that contains the creative. HTML creatives can also contain personalized content that is retrieved from customer data, events, or data views with merge tags.

Submit Creative for Approval

If you have access to an Approvals page on the Orchestration tab, then you must submit the creative for approval before it can be published. For more information, see Getting Messages and Creatives Approved.

Manage Creatives

Rename, Copy, Delete, and Edit a Creative

On the Content Contentthen selectCreatives page, you can rename, copy, delete, and open (for editing) a creative. To access the options, select the creative in the list, and then select the appropriate action.

  • To rename the creative, click Actions and select Rename.

    You can rename a creative regardless of its status. The new name is reflected in all messages and tasks that include the creative. If you rename a creative that is published, it becomes out of sync and must be republished.

    TipAfter you rename a creative that is included in an open message or task, you can click Refresh in the task to see the name change.
  • To copy a creative, select it and click Copy.
  • To open the creative for editing, click it or select the message and click Open Message.

    When you modify a creative that is used in active tasks, be aware of these guidelines:

    • If you add or modify merge tag variables (such as {{variable1}}), you can save the creative only as a new item.

      This restriction does not apply if you remove variables or modify other types of merge tags (such as tags that use demographic data).

    • When you re-publish a creative that has not modified a variable, published tasks begin to use the re-published version of the creative.
  • To delete the creative, click Delete.

    You can delete a creative that is published. You cannot delete a creative that is included in a task. When you delete a creative, the creative is removed from the creatives repository and from any messages that include the creative.

When you open a creative from inside a message, you can access the rename and edit options for the creative. On the Content Contentthen selectMessages page, open the message that contains the creative you want to rename or edit. Select the creative, click Actions, and then select the appropriate action. The changes that you make are applied to the original creative.

Update Properties

Navigate to the Properties tab to see information about the creative. The Standard section contains basic information, such as the name, type, description, category, and code.

Note: Not all fields are required.
  • The Category field is displayed only if the properties available in the system have been assigned a category. However, the selected Category determines which merge tags are displayed in the merge tag selection list.
  • The Code field is needed to map treatments from external applications to the creative. For example, if you are using a dynamic merge tag to retrieve information from an external application, the code must be set in order for the dynamic merge tag to work successfully.

    When a treatment is imported or migrated to SAS Customer Intelligence 360 from an external application such as SAS Marketing Automation, the existing value for the object appears in the Code field. Depending on the code settings for your environment, the code value might be editable. This value is not required to be unique to be valid. If the value is editable, you can change it to match the code value for another item. Valid characters for codes are alphanumeric characters, multi-byte characters, numerals, underscores, hyphens, and periods. Blank spaces are not allowed in code formats.

In the Custom properties section, add, remove, or select custom properties. For more information, see Custom Properties.

View Usage Information

On the Orchestrationthen selectUsage tab, you can view which items use the creative and the items that the creative uses.

The ability to view dependencies between items enables you to see the items that a task depends on to work successfully. Usage information helps you identify how changes that you make to one item might affect another item.

Items That Use the Creative

The first section shows the items that use the creative. For example, if the creative is used in a task, the task is included in the list.

The Priority column displays the priority of like tasks that use the creative. Priority applies only to mobile spot, web spot, and mobile in-app message tasks because each of those task types might have two or more tasks that compete for the same resources. Other task types do not use prioritization.

For non-A/B test tasks, priority is on a scale of 1 through 5 (where 1 is the highest). The default is 3. An A/B test task has a priority of Test, which is higher than a non-A/B test task. An A/B test task always delivers its content.

You can change the priority of a non-A/B test task on the task’s Orchestrationthen selectPriority tab.

Items That the Creative Uses

The second section shows items that the creative uses.

  • Click Directly Related to list the items that the creative uses. For example, if a creative uses an asset, the asset is included in the list.
  • Click All Related to view directly related items as well as any items that those directly related items use. For a creative, the list of directly related and all related items is the same.

    The list displays items with a Designing, Ready, or Active status. Click Show Designing Status only to display only items with a Designing status.

To open an item, click the item. To view item details and to open the item, click View Item Details in the item’s row.

Note: HTML assets that are the content source for mobile spot, web spot, and email creatives are not listed.

End Creatives

Select End if you want to stop the creative from publishing. This action changes the status of the creative to Complete and the creative cannot be included in a task. Only a creative that is not currently in use by a task can be completed. Ending an item stops any associated data collection and makes the item's content unavailable. In addition, any unsaved changes to the creative are lost.

Last updated: August 11, 2026