Locking and Releasing Input Data Items
When a user edits an input data item, it is locked for other users in order to prevent simultaneous edits to the same input data item. After a lock is released, another user can open and edit that input data item. If the user who originally opened the input data item still has it open and another user opens it for editing after an administrator has released the lock, the first user cannot save changes.
Locks can be released only by users with the following administrator roles:
- Super Admin
- Engage Super User
- Combination of Input Data Designer and Lock Manager
Click to view the Locks window. The
Locks window contains a list of locked input data items in a
table that displays the name of the input data item, the reason it is locked, the
current
status of the input data item, the user who is performing the lock, and the date on
which
the input data item was locked. If the table is empty, a message that states No
items are available is displayed. Click
to refresh the table that lists the locked input data items, and click
to release the selected items from their locks. When items are unlocked,
the table is updated to show the current input data items that remain locked.
If a user currently has any input data items that have been unlocked for editing, they will see an alert (or alerts) through the notification system near the top of the Optimization Input Data window. The notification badge increases by one per item affected by any unlocking, and the notification message states the name of the input data item that was unlocked by an administrator.
If a user returns to an input data item that has been unlocked and attempts to save it, an error message states that they can only “save as”.