Creatives for Recommendation Tasks

In order to display recommended content to users, a recommendation task requires a recommendation creative. A recommendation creative specifies the URL template that you want a task to use when making product recommendations. The system uses the URL template to access the correct creatives for the recommendation task. By adding a recommendation creative that specifies which URL template to use, you are defining the creative locations that this message should contain.

Note: The Recommendation option is displayed only after a URL template has been defined in the administration settings. Navigate to Administration Administrationthen selectTasks. Click Recommendation Task in Digital.
  1. On the navigation bar, click Content Contentthen selectCreatives.
  2. Click New Creative.
  3. Click Recommendation to specify the information that a web task needs before the task can deliver personalized recommendations.
    TipIn order for a message to be available to a web task that is delivering recommendations, the message must contain at least one recommendation creative. When you create a recommendation task, you are asked to select the message that contains the URL template that is used to locate the creatives.
  4. When your creative is ready to be published with other items, navigate to the Orchestration tab and update the status.
    • Select Mark ready to change the status from Designing to Ready. A Ready status indicates that this item is ready to be published. When you are ready to promote an item from a Ready status to an Active status, click Publish.
      Note: When you publish an item, you are prompted to publish any dependent items that are marked Ready.

      Items with a Ready status can be changed back to a Designing status by clicking Return to designing. Changing this status to Designing prevents the item from being published.

      Note: If your item has a Ready status and a start date, the item is not automatically published when the start date is reached. For example, if you are creating a task, it must be published in order for the start date to activate the task.
    • Select Mark ready and publish to change the status from Designing to Active. Items with an Active status cannot be changed back to Designing.
Note: Changes to a scheduled or active creative are not automatically propagated to the published version of the creative. You must republish the creative after you save it to resolve the Out of Sync status. Otherwise, the creative stays out of sync with the published version and the updates are not delivered.
Last updated: August 11, 2026