Associating Messages with a Planning Item
- About Messages and Planning Items
- Associate Messages with a Planning Item
- View Messages Associated with a Planning Item
- View Message Details
- Remove Messages from a Planning Item
About Messages and Planning Items
You can associate a message, which might contain creatives, with a planning item. When you associate a message with the planning item, the creatives in that message become available to the planning item and all of the parent planning items. However, you can view the associated creatives only from within the message.
You can associate one or more messages to a planning item, regardless of the status of the message. By associating messages to a planning item, you can group information that is relevant to specific marketing goals for which you are creating a planning item. For more information, see About Messages.
Associate Messages with a Planning Item
To associate a message to a planning item:
- On the Details tab, click Messages.
- Click Add Message. The Select Message window displays a list of messages. To view the messages that are associated with a parent item, select the Associated with Parent check box.
- Select the messages to be associated with the planning item, and then click OK. These messages are associated with all the planning items that are located in the hierarchy above the planning item.
- (Optional) To create a message, in the
Select Message window, click New
Message.
For more information, see Creating Messages.
- To select or add more messages from
the Messages page in a planning item, click
.
View Messages Associated with a Planning Item
To view the associated messages, on the Details tab of a planning item, click Messages.
In the list of associated messages, a link icon is shown next to the message that is associated with a task. The association of this message and the task cannot be removed.
- When you view or open the message that is associated to a planning item, you can see the most recent status of the message that is saved in the system.
- If a message that is associated with a task is replaced with another message in the application, the new message is shown with the association icon at the task level. The previous message is shown for the planning item without an association icon.
- If the association of a message to a task is removed from the application, this message is not shown at the task level. The message is available for a planning item without the association icon.
- If a new message is associated with a task that is already associated with a planning item, the new message is shown with the association icon at the task level and in the parent hierarchy.
- If a message that is associated with a planning item is deleted from the application, the message is removed from the planning item and the parent hierarchy.
View Message Details
- On the Details tab, click the Messages tab.
- Click
next to the message to view and remove the associations. If the message is not directly associated with the planning item, only the association with the currently selected planning item is removed.
- To view the messages that are directly associated with the planning items, use the toggle in the upper right corner of the screen.
- You can view the message details by clicking the message name. Use the breadcrumb trail available in the upper left corner of the screen to return to the planning item.
Remove Messages from a Planning Item
- On the Properties tab, click the Messages tab.
- Select the messages that you want to remove.
- Click
and confirm removal.
The messages are disassociated from the child planning items. The removed messages are available in the message list for association.