Customizing Permissions in Planning Items

Overview of Customizing Permissions for Planning Items

Customize permissions if you want to define which users and groups have access to a planning item, as well as which type of access they have. If this planning item is part of a hierarchy, the permissions of the planning item are affected by its parent in the following ways:

  • If customized permissions are not enabled on the parent of the planning item, you cannot enable customized permissions on the child planning item.
    Note: You can enable customized permissions on the parent item and not on a child item.
  • If the parent of the new item has customized permissions, then the permissions of the new item are a union of the permissions of its parent and the users and groups that are added to the item. For example, Manisha has created a plan. Manisha is added as a default user with Edit permission on that plan (level 1) and Laura is added as a user with View permission on a program (level 2). The Permissions tab of the program lists Manisha with Edit permission and Laura with View permission. In addition, Manisha is listed as an inherited user.

If permissions are not customized for a planning item, that means that the item can be accessed by any user, as long as the user has the sufficient roles to access the item. For example, if a plan item (parent) does not have customized permissions, anyone with a role of Planning Viewer or Plan Viewer can access the planning item.

Before You Begin

Before you begin working with permissions, it is important to understand the relationship between roles and permissions. In addition, it is helpful to understand how administrative rights are affected by permissions. For more information, see About Item Permissions.

Note: It might take a few seconds for changes to permissions to take effect.

Add Users and Groups to Planning Items

  1. Open the planning item that you want to customize permissions for.
  2. Navigate to the Permissions tab.
  3. Enable Customize permissions.
  4. Click Edit. If you are customizing permissions for a new item, you must save the item before you can click Edit.
  5. Click Add member to add users or groups.
    Note:
    • Users and groups that are inherited from parent items cannot be removed and are denoted by the Inherited user icon.
    • If a user is listed in the table and is also included in a group that is listed in the table, the permissions that are assigned to the user apply. For example, if a person has Edit access in a task and is also a member of a group that has View access, that person has Edit access to the task. You can view the membership of a group by clicking Properties.
  6. Select which type of permission to grant the users and groups. Selecting View restricts the user or group to Read-Only permissions. Selecting Edit grants the user or group Edit permissions.
    Note: You can inadvertently reduce the access that an administrator has if you assign View permission to users who are administrators or to groups that contain administrators. To help you identify these users and groups, administrators and groups that contain an administrator are denoted by the Administrator icon.
  7. If you are satisfied with the list of users and groups, click Save. To continue modifying the list, click Edit.

Editing Permissions to Planning Items

On the Permissions tab, you can click Edit to modify the list of users and groups that have permissions to the planning item. In addition, you can select users and groups to add to the child items in the hierarchy. To manage the list, perform one of these actions:

  • To add a user or group, click Add member
  • To change the permissions that are assigned to a user or group, select the appropriate row. Click Options and select the new permissions.
  • To reset permissions, click Reset permissions. This option resets the permissions to the list from the most recent save and is available only after a change is made.
  • To reset default permissions for the item, click Options and select Reset default permissions.

    The users and groups that are assigned permissions for the selected item are reset. Any users or groups that are not in the default list are lost.

  • To remove a user or group, select the user or group and click Remove members.

    You can remove the selected user or group from the planning item. Alternatively, you can remove the selected user or group from the planning item and the child items in the hierarchy below the planning item.

    Note: Inherited users and groups cannot be removed.
  • To add the users or groups and their permissions to items that are children of this item, click Options and select Apply to hierarchy. The option is not available if the planning item ranks the lowest in the hierarchy and has no child items.
    Note: Before you can select this option, you must click Apply to save any current changes.

Clicking Save applies the changes and returns you to the Permissions tab. To apply the changes and continue editing permissions, click Apply.

TipYou can modify the settings for multiple users and groups at one time by selecting all of the rows of the table that you want to update. For example, you can change the permissions of multiple users and groups by selecting the appropriate rows and clicking Options.
Last updated: August 11, 2026