Audience Status

The status of an audience determines whether it has data available for use in tasks. An audience can be added to a task regardless of the audience status. However, the task cannot run successfully unless the audience is active.

Active

When an audience is run and its data is successfully uploaded into SAS Customer Intelligence 360, the audience gets an active status.

Note: For audiences, the Activated By column displays the name of the last person that modified the audience.

Inactive

When an audience becomes inactive, the audience data that was uploaded is removed from SAS Customer Intelligence 360. For example, an audience becomes inactive when the data expiration value of the audience is exceeded.

Note: The status of a new audience that is being created is also inactive.

Paused by the System

An audience is automatically paused by SAS Customer Intelligence 360 when one of these situations occurs:

  • the audience membership exceeds five million members for more than 14 consecutive days. The audience can be run successfully when the membership totals less than five million members.
  • the audience membership reaches six million members. The audience can be successfully run when the membership totals less than six million members and the audience has not exceeded five million members for more than 14 consecutive days.

Running

An audience has a status of running while SAS Customer Intelligence 360 is processing the audience data.

Failed

An audience has a status of failed when it does not run successfully. Here are some reasons that an audience might fail:

  • the external data source, such as Snowflake, is unreachable.
  • the external data source no longer contains the data used by the audience. For example, the columns might have changed or might be missing.
  • credentials for the external data source might be invalid.

Cancel Pending

When you cancel an audience run, it can take some time to stop processing data. While the run is being canceled it has a status of Cancel Pending.

Canceled by User

If you cancel an audience while it is running, data processing stops and items that use the audience, such as tasks, do not run successfully. When the audience runs successfully, the status changes to active and any tasks that use the audience can run successfully.

Last updated: August 18, 2026