Publish or Activate the Task
When you are finished updating your task and are ready to run it, either publish or activate it. Whether you publish or activate the task depends on the task type. You activate push notification tasks and publish all other task types.
When the end date of a task is reached, its status changes to Complete. Completed tasks cannot be modified. The task stops any associated data collection and makes the task's content unavailable. In addition, any unsaved changes are lost.
Considerations for Publishing or Activating Tasks
- If your task uses an audience or a segment, ensure that the the schedule of the audience or segment is aligned with the task schedule. For example, an audience needs to be active before the task that includes it runs. If your task includes a segment, ensure that the segment is run according to your needs for the task targeting.
- Bulk tasks must be activated or published and run to deliver content.
- When you activate or publish a task that uses a creative with a personalization variable, the application creates a unique copy of the original creative. This copy contains the personalization information that is specific to the task. Because the original creative is copied, the status of the original creative in Creatives might appear as Ready although the creative that is associated with the activated task is published. Currently there is no place where you can view the application's copy of the creative.
Publish the Task
If your task has an Orchestration tab, then you need to publish it to make the task active.
- Select Mark
Ready to change the status from Designing to Ready. A Ready
status indicates that this item is ready to be published. When you are ready to
promote an item from a Ready status to an Active status, click
Publish.
Note: When you publish an item, you are prompted to publish any dependent items that are marked Ready.
Items with a Ready status can be changed back to a Designing status by clicking Return to Designing. Changing this status to Designing prevents the item from being published.
Note: A task is not automatically activated if the start date is reached while the task has a status of Ready. The task must be activated in order for a start date to automatically run the task. - Select Mark Ready and Publish to change the status from Designing to Active. Items with an Active status cannot be changed back to Designing.
- If your task uses on-premises data,
such as an on-premises direct marketing task, an on-premises segment, or an
on-premises bulk email task, you must run the task in addition to publishing it.
This step also applies to bulk email tasks that use cloud data. If you want to
execute the task immediately, click Publish and Run
Now. To make the task active without executing it, click
Publish Only. The Publish
Only option is useful if you want to use an external scheduler
to execute the task. Only active tasks that are not out of sync can be
run.
Note: If you cannot run the task, ensure that you have been assigned the Publisher role or the Super Admin role in SAS Customer Intelligence 360.
Activate the Task
If the task that you are designing has a Review button, it needs to be activated before it can deliver content.
- Click Review and resolve any issues. Once the review completes successfully and you click OK, the task is ready to activate and the status of the task moves to Ready.
- Click
Activate.
- When you activate a task that
does not have a schedule, you have the option to run and activate it or
only activate it.
The task can be run manually later by clicking Run Now from the task. Bulk, advertising, and direct tasks can be run later with the Marketing Execution REST API.
- When you activate a task, you are prompted to publish any dependent items that are marked Ready.
- A scheduled task becomes active when the start date is reached as long as the status of the task is either Scheduled or Active.
A job summary notification is sent when processing is complete.
- When you activate a task that
does not have a schedule, you have the option to run and activate it or
only activate it.
After the task is activated, the default view changes to the Task insights view. From View, you can click Task design or Plan to see other views.