Use Creatives in Email Content
About Email Creatives
In an email task, a creative is contained within a content block that you add to your email layout. You can add one creative to a content block.
- Bulk email tasks that use an audience as a data source can have only one creative in a content block.
- Adding more than 50 creatives to a task can negatively affect performance.
You can access creatives by navigating to
Content
Creatives on the navigation bar, or by opening a message that contains the
creative. These are the types of creatives that you can use in an email
task:
- You can use HTML creatives. To create
one, click
from the Creatives page and select HTML. For more information, see HTML Creatives.
- You can import assets as creatives. To
import assets, click
from the Creatives page and select Add Creative from Asset. For more information, see Import Assets as Creatives.
Creatives and Personalization Variables
If the creative that you use contains a personalization variable, you need to complete one of these actions:
- select the appropriate merge tag to replace the personalization variable.
- enter default text to replace the personalization variable.
Follow these steps to add a merge tag to a personalization variable:
- Click
.
- Specify how to resolve the merge
tag.
- Select a merge tag to use.
- Add conditions that determine which content to be displayed.
- Enter the text that you want to be displayed to all recipients in the Default Value field. Do not select a merge tag.
Personalize Creatives
You can add one or more creatives to a message and personalize the creatives for different subsets of the target audience.
In an email task, add a content block, select a message with multiple creatives, and then specify personalization criteria for each creative to define which creative is delivered to each subset. For example, to personalize content by gender, add a creative that contains men’s apparel for male recipients, women’s apparel for female recipients. For more information, see Add a Content Block.
End Creatives
Select End if you do not want a creative to be published. This action changes the status of the creative to Completed and the creative cannot be included in a task. Only a creative that is not currently in use by a task can be completed. Ending an item stops any associated data collection and makes the item's content unavailable. In addition, any unsaved changes to the creative are lost.