Creating a Web Spot Set
Creating a spot set enables you to coordinate the delivery of your content to multiple spots at once. By synchronizing when multiple creatives are updated, you can better control the message to your customer. When you create a spot set, you can create spots or add existing spots to the set.
If the spot set that you are creating is for an A/B test task:
- Avoid spot sets that
display a subset of their spots on one web page. The analytics assume
that all of the spots in the set are always available simultaneously.
Note: To guarantee that all of the spots in a set are displayed simultaneously, the values for the spot location details must be identical across all of the spots in the set. Matching the spot location details enables analytics to run successfully on your A/B test task.
- Avoid spots that are used by another active A/B test task.
- On the navigation bar, click
Event Tracking
Spots. - Click
.
- Select the type of spot
set to create:
- Select Web Multi-Page Set to create a spot set that displays content on multiple spots in different web pages.
- Select Web Single-Page Set to create a spot set that displays content on multiple spots in the same web page.
- Add spots to the spot
set.
- Click Create Spot to create a spot that is automatically included in the spot set.
- Click Add
Existing Spots to select which spots to add to the set
by navigating to the web page that contains the spots that you want
to include.
Note: At any time while selecting spots to include in your set, you can navigate to different web pages. However, the only spots that you can include in your set are the spots that exist on the web page that is currently displayed.
- Update spot information.
- Select Edit Spot to update the spot configuration, such as the CSS selector or location.
- Select Apply
attributes from this spot to the spot set to assign the
attributes from this spot to the spot set. Because only one spot can
contribute attributes to the set at a time, selecting this option
prevents any other spot in this set from contributing attributes to
the set.
Note: Selecting this option does not change the attributes of any of the spots; it affects only the spot set. However, to use this spot set in task targeting, this option must be selected.
- On the Orchestration tab,
take these actions:
- Select Mark
ready to change the status from Designing to Ready. A Ready status
indicates that this item is ready to be published. When you are ready to promote
an item from a Ready status to an Active status, click
Publish.
Note: When you publish an item, you are prompted to publish any dependent items that are marked Ready.
Items with a Ready status can be changed back to a Designing status by clicking Return to designing. Changing this status to Designing prevents the item from being published.
Note: If your item has a Ready status and a start date, the item is not automatically published when the start date is reached. For example, if you are creating a task, it must be published in order for the start date to activate the task. - Select Mark ready and publish to change the status from Designing to Active. Items with an Active status cannot be changed back to Designing.
If the content of a published item is changed and saved, that item becomes out of sync with the published version. To synchronize the content, select Republish. Otherwise, the item stays out of sync with the published version and the updates are not delivered.
For more information, see Republishing Out of Sync Items.
- Select Mark
ready to change the status from Designing to Ready. A Ready status
indicates that this item is ready to be published. When you are ready to promote
an item from a Ready status to an Active status, click
Publish.
You can view the properties of each spot or preview the spots in the set by navigating to the Spot Set tab. On the Spot Set tab, you can also add new spots to the set.
A spot set ends when you click End from the Orchestration tab. The status of the spot set changes from Active to Complete. Completed sets cannot be used in a task and cannot be modified. Ending a spot set does not automatically end the spots that it contains, because those individual spots might be in use in other tasks.
If you complete a spot that is associated with an active task, then that active task is also completed. If you complete a spot that is associated with an active task that is part of a real-time journey, then both the task and the journey are completed. As a result, all data collection ends for these items. In addition, any spot sets that use the spot are also completed. Because content cannot be delivered to completed spots, any unpublished tasks that use the completed spot need to use a different spot before the task can be published.