Sharing Assets

Share the Link to an Asset

SAS Customer Intelligence 360 enables you to share a link to an externally shared asset.

Note: If the asset is not enabled for external sharing, the asset URL is not displayed. To view the URL, you must enable external sharing.
  1. In the Tile view, select an externally shared asset, right-click an asset tile, and select Share. Or you can select one or more externally shared assets from the Tile view or Table view. Click Options, and select Share.
  2. Select the access level of the user that you want to share the asset with.
    • Select Anyone with the link and authorized access to enable only a SAS Customer Intelligence 360 user with the authorized permission to access the URL.
    • Select Anyone with the link to enable any user to access the URL.
  3. Click Copy. The available URLs are copied to the clipboard.
  4. Click Close and provide the copied URL to the user.
  5. Alternatively, to view the URL from an open asset navigate to the Orchestration tab.

Share Assets Externally

You can select one or more assets and make them available to external users. You can also select one or more externally shared assets and make them unavailable to external users. You can view the external sharing status in an open asset, on the Orchestration tab. You can also view the external sharing status for an asset in the Tile view and in the Table view. In the Tile view, externally shared assets are displayed with the label “External”.

Note: All assets that you upload are either enabled or disabled for external sharing by default, depending on the setting that is specified in the assets configuration. At the time of upload, you can override the default setting by using the toggle switch to enable or disable one or more assets. For more information, see Configure External Sharing in SAS Customer Intelligence 360: Administration Guide.

Enable External Sharing

To enable external sharing for a single asset:

  1. Navigate to the asset.
  2. In the Tile view, right-click an asset tile and select Enable External Sharing.
    TipAn alternative action is to click the Orchestration tab in an open asset, and then click Enable External Sharing.

When you enable external sharing for an asset, an asset URL is generated, which is accessible to external users. On the Orchestration tab in an open asset, click Copy link to copy and share the URL. For more information, see Share the Link to an Asset.

TipYou can enable external sharing when you upload an asset.

To enable external sharing for several assets:

  1. Select all of the assets for which you want to enable external sharing.
  2. On the top menu bar, click Options and select Enable External Sharing.
    TipYou can enable external sharing when you upload a batch of assets.

A batch update job is run to enable several selected assets for external sharing. To view the job information for the selected assets, click View Job Information. On the Job Information page, click the Processes tab to see the job status. To view the log messages for the job, in the View Details column, click Details View.

Note: You cannot enable external sharing for expired assets, assets with unsupported file formats, assets without original renditions, and assets that you do not have permission to edit. Currently, only image file formats are supported.

Disable External Sharing

To disable external sharing for a single asset:

  1. Navigate to the asset that is enabled for external sharing.
  2. In the Tile view, right-click an asset tile and select Disable External Sharing.
    TipAn alternative action is to click the Orchestration tab in an open asset, and then click Disable External Sharing.

To disable external sharing for several assets:

  1. Select all of the assets for which you want to disable external sharing.
    Note: Only assets that are enabled for external sharing can be disabled.
  2. On the top menu bar, click Options and select Disable External Sharing.
    Note: If you disable external sharing, the items that use the externally shared assets might be affected.

A batch update job is run to disable several selected assets for external sharing. To view the job information for the selected assets, click View Job Information. On the Job Information page, click the Processes tab to see the job status. To view the log messages for the job, in the View Details column, click Details View.

Note: You can disable external sharing for assets only if you have Edit capability for the selected assets.

Manage Externally Shared Assets

When you enable external sharing for one or more assets, a URL is generated for the original rendition of the asset. The URL refers to the location of the asset on the external content delivery server. If you update the asset or upload a new version, the URL remains unchanged and refers to the latest version of the original rendition of the asset.

However, if you replace the original rendition or upload a new version of the asset with an unsupported file type, external sharing is automatically disabled for the asset. Currently, only image file formats are supported.

If you delete an asset, or the asset expires, external sharing is disabled and the URL is inaccessible.

Filter Externally Shared Assets

Click Advanced Filter to filter assets that are enabled or disabled for external sharing. In the External Sharing section, select the check box next to Yes to filter assets that are enabled for external sharing. Select the check box next to No to filter assets that are disabled for external sharing.

Last updated: August 11, 2026